Posted by: Julie Scheving | September 3, 2012

Just a few thoughts on fruit. Yep. Fruit.

Since the strokes, one thing happens to me that is kind of odd. I have “aha” moments much more frequently. They are brief, no doubt. But still impact me…at least for as long as I can remember them. The aphasia means they are in front of me, behind me, and all around me while they are there. This is the part that is challenging at times. For me and you!

So here’s the thought for now: The fruit of the Spirit, mentioned in Galatians 5:22-23, is just that. The fruit of the Spirit! (I’ll pause so you can all say, “Duh!”

Many joke about “working” on “patience/longsuffering”. But the way I read this is that we can’t “work” on anything. Well, let me correct myself. We can allow God to do such a work in our lives that His fruit is what is seen. Not us.

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self control. Against such there is no law.”

Hmmm. His fruit. Reflecting Him. Not strived for. Lived out.

O Father, may your fruit be evidence in my life. For YOUR glory!

Have a great night. Rest in Him. Again, His peace. His love.

Just Julie

Leave a Reply

Categories

