Posted by: Julie Scheving | August 21, 2012

What it means to be forgiven…

Happy Tuesday morning to you!

Yes, I said Tuesday. And yes, today’s blog “thought” is on forgiveness. And yes, the two go together today.

When I re-committed to blogging on a weekly basis the goal was every Monday. Well, I made it for almost three months and then missed the mark yesterday. Now, what do I do with it?

I can waller in failure (and I know that sounds overly dramatic). I missed my goal. I didn’t do what I said I’d do. I might as well quit. That’s one way to handle it.

OR I can acknowledge I missed the mark, call it what it is, and move on. Re-commit. Learn lessons. Walkk in forgiveness.

There are times that personal failure overwhelms me. Oh sure, others say something is no big deal. And there are times I make a mountain out of a mole hill. (Like maybe over a missed blog deadline…even when it is a self-imposed deadline.)

My new goal with failure is to learn from it. What have I learned (or re-learned) from this? There are times that circumstances change things. And circumstances that cannot be controlled. Yesterday, health was the circumstance of the day. As it has been in my life for the last three and a half years to some degree. Human frailty…ahhhh. Who likes dealing with that? Nobody. Who has to deal with it? Everybody.

Now how to put it in proper perspective. There have been times I haven’t blogged (before the last three months) because I just didn’t want to or I put it off. No real “reason” (or excuse…you pick the word) other than I just didn’t get it done. I didn’t push myself to honor my commitment.

To extend proper perspective a step further, there are times we need to be forgiven, and times we don’t. Times to beat a dead horse. And times to realize there is no dead horse….and to just keep moving forward.

So, it’s Tuesday. God is sovereign. He’s still working in my life…just as He is yours. I embrace that truth. On Tuesday…or Monday…and every other day He allows me to have breath. May I live for Him and share it as often as possible!

I love you. Let’s both walk in His forgiveness and stay up to date with His grace. Asking for it when needed. And walking in it and sharing it as often as possible.

Oh! And one last thought on forgiveness…let’s be dispensers of it. When it’s hard and/or when it’s not as hard. Trusting that He has forgiven us, so let’s offer the same thing to others. In His name and for His glory!

Thank you for loving me. Thank you for forgiving me. And if you can’t think of why you need to forgive me, just hang on. I’ll do something that needs your forgiveness at some point. Or at many points.

You are loved!

Just Julie

Responses

  1. Beautiful! You know I am a fiery type of person and I can get very hurt by people’s words….I try to act tougher then I am. I was recently told by someone that I had said something that I would never and have never said. My first gut reaction was to lash out with words…..but then I thought no…I will not allow myself to sink to that level…..so I chose to write something on my FB page that was uplifting about faith. It made me feel good. I am not perfect and I have failed many times in my life and will many more, but I have learned so much and will continue to learn….which is a part of living. Forgiveness is always better then holding on to hurt….but it can be such a difficult thing to do, very difficult to do at times. Thank you for sharing this with Suzanne who in turn shared it on FB…..God bless.


Leave a Reply

Categories

